california (again)

IMG_3454

Let’s just pretend that I spent the last 13 months writing books on important things (world hunger! a dishwasher that puts its own dishes away!), seeing the world, and perfecting my sourdough skills. No? Sound spurious? Well shoot. Mom always said I was a bad liar.

2017 was rough. Fortunately, with positive affirmations and a supportive community back home, we left the East Coast in December and returned to our northern California roots. Ultimately our people are out West and our jobs weren’t interesting, leading to ‘fuck it, we’re going home’. A for effort? West coasters through and through.

After a five day road trip in which I drove the dog and the husband drove the cruise control-less car (bless you, sir), we made it HOME. I’m sitting in our little house on a quiet street in Sacramento, drinking coffee and reflecting on the week at a job that I actually enjoy (I make maps and analyze data for a living now YASSS). Later I’ll visit some friends in Oakland, and bask in the miracle that it only takes 1.5 hours without setting foot inside of an airport. The hallelujah chorus is on repeat in my head.

In celebration of being back, our house has been full of visitors. Primarily people and dogs that were seen for fleeting moments when we flew home. It’s been exhausting and wonderful and it makes me weep that our cups are so full. Still, our new home is tiny, so getting out and about when you have 2+ visitors staying for the weekend is necessary. I found a little jaunt about 30 minutes away up at Folsom Lake. This time of year, the parking lot is empty and the view of the Sierras is incredible. I will never, ever tire of those giants protruding along the skyline. Plus, dogs galore. Moose loved loping up and down the trails, looking for sticks and friends. Life’s pretty good out here.

I’ve got some cool East Coast anecdotes to share about Acadia NP and Shenandoah NP. Will try to snap out of my California bliss and dig out those photos/trail maps for you later. For now, take a walk around the lake and bask in those badass mountains. Pinch me.

IMG_5403

Beal’s Point at Folsom Lake SRA

  • Where: Beal’s Point Recreation Area (here)
  • Cost: $12 per vehicle
  • Time: 1 – 2 hours, late afternoon as the sun is getting golden
  • Length: 3 miles (or as far as you want to go)
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Trail: The lake is lower in the winter to account for snowmelt, and Beal’s Point turns into a nice peninsula with sandy spots to wander (perfect for puppers). We walked north on the Jedediah Smith Memorial Trail (away from the main dam) until the path became gravel and dirt, winding through the foothills around the lake. Go as far as you want, then turn around and swing by Falafel Corner for a chicken gyro wrap on your way home plz.
IMG_4592
Moose spotted in Acadia, more to come!
california (again)

Leave a comment